Global Progress of Industrially Milled Cereal Grains

Globally 86 countries have legislation to mandate fortification of at least one industrially milled cereal grain. Of these, 85 countries fortify wheat flour alone or in combination with other grains. One country - Papua New Guinea - has a mandate only for rice fortification.

See this spreadsheet of countries with mandatory legislation for each grain.

For regional information:

Use the Global Fortification Data Exchange (GFDx) to see which nutrients are in country standards for grains as well as edible oil and salt. Use these directions:

  1. On the right panel, select the food vehicle of interest and the nutrients of interest.
  2. Below the GFDx map is a table with information used to populate the map. Below the table, scroll over the “Download” button and click on “CSV” to download a file with the selected data.

Note: If a country has multiple foods that include the nutrient in the standard, the country will appear multiple times in the downloaded file.

See more information >>>

Mandatory Cereal Grain Fortification Legislation - June 2018

The map above reflects the legislation by grain or combination of grains as follows:

  • 66 red countries have legislation for wheat flour alone
  • 14 green countries have legislation for wheat flour and maize flour
  • 3 orange countries have legislation for wheat flour and rice
  • 2 blue countries have legislation for wheat flour, maize flour, and rice (Costa Rica and the United States)
  • 1 yellow country has legislation for rice alone (Papua New Guinea)