15 Years, 15 Fortification Champions

The public policy planning forum that launched what became FFI was on 24 October 2002 in Mauritius. To celebrate our 15th birthday, we are honoring 15 fortification champions from different sectors and different parts of the world. An influential person who supports fortification is a key to success, based on lessons from Latin America.

FFI’s formative stage was led by Glen Maberly who was then at Emory University, and Bill Dietz and Ibrahim Parvanta who were then at the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Nutrition International (then called the Micronutrient Initiative) and the International Association of Operative Millers were also instrumental original partners.

In 2002, 46 countries had mandates to fortify wheat flour. In October 2017, 87 countries have legislation to fortify wheat flour, maize flour, and/or rice.

Click below for interviews with fortification champions. Check back often as we will add more interviews through December. Or follow us on Facebook and Twitter with the hashtags #FFI15 and #15Champs. Also, join the Food Fortification Initiative group on LinkedIn to receive alerts when we have posted new profiles.

Abubakar Bakhresa, Tanzania

Agron Gashi, Kosovo

Ayoub Al-Jawaldeh, Egypt

Deena Alasfoor, Oman

Do Hong Phuong, Viet Nam

Eduarda Mungoi, Mozambique

Godfrey Oakley, United States

Greg Harvey, Singapore

Nicolas Tsikhlakis, Jordan

Pawan Agarwal, India

Shamil Tazhibayev, Kazakhstan

Sue Horton, Canada

Terry Wefwafwa, Kenya

Victor Temple, Papua New Guinea

Wilma B. Freire, Ecuador